Yea or neigh…cookbook cookie recipes

Hi all, this past week I have been experimenting with different cookbook cookie recipes. I love looking at the beautiful deserts that are on each page, but sometimes I feel daunted to actually use some of these recipes. The best tip is to pick the easiest recipe in your book and get over that first hurdle. So that’s what I did! These were two of my fails that were great to learn from.

1. America’s Test Kitchen: The How Can It Be Gluten Free Cookbook (GF Oatmeal Cookies)

Okay. I think the amount of ingredients required to make such a simple recipe was crazy. The cookies had a very strong oatmeal taste that really overshadowed the cranberries, vanilla, almond, and nutmeg that were also in there. The oats smelled fabulous during the step where they sit to absorb 1/4 cup of water for moisture. Don’t get me wrong, I love oats, but I think with so much effort and no truly special product, it would be better just to make a steamy bowl of oatmeal.

img_2255

img_2254

img_2253

img_2251

img_2249

img_2248

They looked nice, tasted fine, but were not memorable. I would instead adapt these V Banana Nut Chocolate Cookies to be gluten-free!

2. BabyCakes Covers the Classics: Gluten-Free Vegan Recipes from Donuts to Snickerdoodles (V Snickerdoodle Cookies )

img_2246

I have always wanted to make an Erin McKenna recipe, and it was finally time! When I was 6, I received the first cookbook she made but never really used it (haha). The batter for the snickerdoodle cookies was exactly how it was described to be in the book: sandy and slightly liquid-y. I put it in the refrigerator overnight, which is where the problems started…

img_2244

It was extremely hard to scoop out the dough from the container because it solidified. When I finally was able to shape them, they looked like little hamburgers on the baking sheet–not the most appetizing appearance for a cookie.

img_2242

In the oven, the cookies looked much better. The nice cinnamon smell was wafting out, but they ended up deflating halfway through the baking time.

img_2241

In the end, the cookies were flat, there was so much oil or liquid that they never set, and I placed all of them in a container. A few minutes later, I had a blob of “cookie” in the shape of the Pyrex container. They had a surprisingly okay flavor after being refrigerated, albeit it was essentially cinnamon sugar with coconut oil.

img_2239

Keep posted, I haven’t given up on cookbooks and will test more recipes from both of the books soon!

Leave a Reply

